Home > Uncategorized > Sunset Campout 2011 – The Gospel of House

Sunset Campout 2011 – The Gospel of House

Sunset Campout 2011

So, I just wrote part of a grizzly electro house track last night and another deeper attempt to re-capture the vibes from the river this past weekend, although I think my version might be a bit trancier… Somehow the DJ’s on Saturday night at the 2011 Sunset Campout this year in Belden, CA, had seriously the freshest, funkiest and fattest basslines, with very complex polyrhythms for house music. Moreso than I ever remember hearing before, and I used to go out to Chicago parties for about 3-4 years. It was very deep, textural, ambient, and soulful while at times being somewhat minimal and disco-oriented. Also other moments had some king kong & godzilla stomping over an Earth-invasion style track…wicked, spacey, brutal and ultra Chicago house. I feel like The Godfather just bestowed a lesson upon me! Much respect to Larry Heard, aka Mr. Fingers. I had heard lots of chatter before, but now I understand. At least a bit more…but my man dropped it like a heavyweight. He layed it on T H I C K ! Also, Akufen followed up nicely too…keeping the vibe flowing along similar veins. Super rockin!

Is it possible to recreate or re-experience this music again? I hope so…it was so good!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment